The Sacred Romance by Brent Curtis – reviewed 12-14-09

This book, like other John Eldridge books, seems to be off by just hair and I can’t put my finger on it. It seems to be full of good points and doesn’t seem to counter scripture but a couple of things bother me just a bit.
One is that the over all focus of the book seems to be along the lines of “life has hurt me and God’s going to make me feel better”…slightly self-focused. The other thing I have a hard time with is ambiguous metaphors (The Message of the Arrows). CS Lewis was a master of the metaphor and allegory. Brent & John’s seem a little too abstract….

What do you think??

