The Perpetual Hydration Machine

Sitting in the shade of a tree with my lunch & a book as I do most days, I paused my reading to soak in the the beauty of this summer day. I looked into the sky and saw a cloud that easily lent itself to interpretation as an image. What I saw was a father lifting his newborn baby boy up and looking into his eyes. Maybe God was sending me a message? Maybe telling me He loves me like His own son. I felt like God was allowing me to see His sketch book full of doodles like mine. I got to thinking about clouds, created with so much versatility. To many of us they are hold endless pictures. But they are far more than my ink doodles will ever be. They are massive, they constantly change in shape, location and color. Their primary purpose, I suppose is to hydrate the planet. That is so amazing to me…a Perpetual Hydration machine. If you believe in the materialistic/naturalistic cause of all things, then evolution was so kind as to (among its countless other happenings) provide a system that not only waters all the land on earth, but works in a cycle so that it is always present. Think about an earth without clouds: no rain, no rivers to irrigate the land….I guess we’d have oceans, but the land would have dried up eons ago without something to sprinkle water all over it. Not to mention the cooling brought by shade and rain…I think the sun would have baked every living thing in one summer.

I can see only two ways to view these amazing systems in nature. One is to confound my brain with the hope that someday there will be a sort of magic bullet formula, a Theory of Everything, that can somehow explain how incomprehensibly countless systems and machines built up of matter that sort of just happened to come together have provided a habitable planet for me to sit and pointlessly observe. The other is to see the message woven through creation and accept that it was constructed by an artistic mechanic/story writer Who, by His very nature, sits outside of time and purposefully draws me to Him by these things I observe. The latter is far easier for me to believe.

Then I turned the page of the book I was reading and this verse, entirely unrelated to my line of thought, sat staring me in the face:

“10 As the rain and the snow
come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,”

~Isaiah 55:10&11

God, are you sending me a message?? Awesome!

What do you think??

