Arrogance and Body (refurbished blog from MySpace 1-18-07)

I’m afraid sometimes arrogance may creep up in me, if nowhere else then in the very fact that I hate it so much. One thing I have always feared is coming across full of myself and not realize it. Sometimes I laugh at someone because they pronounce a word wrong – at first I think we’re laughing together but then if I put myself in their shoes, it’s making them feel stupid. If I ever do this I’m sorry – I realize it belittles you. There are consequences for thinking you’re better than others (i.e. Cutting their self esteem down) and the Lord hates a haughty eye. But the biggest reason to pursue a humble character is to be more like Jesus. If you get to know Jesus you will see that, while he was never a push-over and always spoke with authority, he was humble – never self-seeking. Romans 12:3 “For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you. Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.” This brings me to another point, that we are part of the body (this should inspire you because it emphasizes your personal gifts, talents and passions). And if you’re new to Christianity or you are questioning Christianity – realize this: Whoever you have been asking questions will not know everything. Do not be discouraged – no one can know everything. Don’t think that their inability to answer a question is a hole in the doctrine of Christianity. As a body some Christians will know more about some things than others. I pray if you are seeking, God will lead you to the ones you need to meet.

What do you think??

