Manifold (refurbished blog from MySpace 7-13-07)

Check this out:

man·i·fold  /’mæn??fo?ld/ Pronunciation Key – Show Spelled Pronunciation[man-uh-fohld] -adjective ..>..>

1.         of many kinds; numerous and varied: manifold duties.

 

2.         having numerous different parts, elements, features, forms, etc.: a manifold program for social reform.

 

3.         using, functioning with, or operating several similar or identical devices at the same time.

 

4.         (of paper business forms) made up of a number of sheets interleaved with carbon paper.

 

5.         being such or so designated for many reasons: a manifold enemy.

Anyway-this  is fascinating to me. Because we see in Ephesians 3

“7I became a servant of this gospel by the gift of God’s grace given me through the working of his power. 8Although I am less than the least of all God’s people, this grace was given me: to preach to the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ, 9and to make plain to everyone the administration of this mystery, which for ages past was kept hidden in God, who created all things. 10His intent was that now, through the church, the manifold wisdom of God should be made known to the rulers and authorities in the heavenly realms, 11according to his eternal purpose which he accomplished in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Man that is so cool! OK…let that sink in. I don’t want you to skim over this and not see that. God’s manifold wisdom.There is so much to know about Him, so much to explore and learn.And what’s even cooler is that we see these aspects of God in  creation:

Romans1:19 “since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them. 20For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities-his eternal power and divine nature-have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.”

Isn’t that FREAKING cool? Every sunset, every blooming flower, the complexities of living organisms, thunder, the sun, the moon, the stars-these are all facets of God.

*     *     *

So I’m swimming through a dense fog…the kind of fog the envelopes everyone opposite you when you haven’t had a good conversation yet. It’s kind of like walking from your bedroom to the kitchen in the pitch black of 3am for a glass of water. Although your path could as well be free of obstacles, your toes can almost feel the bone crunching collision with a dumbbell left out or the corner of the coffee table. This can be all at once exciting as terrifying. From what I already know, there is no reason to think that what I find when the fog is cleared is any less beautiful than what I have seen.

God help me, for so many times I have stood in awe of your creation, something about it going past an image captured by my retina and encircling a piece of my inner most wonder and then fell because I let it take over my entire reason for being. God help me keep a level head. Charm is deceitful, so when I look into the heart of another, I want to be amazed by its core; its very  self being quite enough and leaving me needing nothing else.

What do you think??

