Review of “Desiring God: Meditations of a Christian Hedonist” by John Piper

Although I disagree with Piper’s Calvinistic views, I have otherwise found him to be a solid teacher of the Bible. I admire the authority and respect that he hold for the Word. That being said, his speaking/writing are little more dull to me than other favorite writers or speakers.
Desiring God’s over-arching theme is one I kind of thought I would agree on from the outset and finishing the book, I, for the most part still do agree. It’s kind of funny though, because I think Piper was addressing lots of critics of what he terms “Christian Hedonism” and so the reader automatically feels like they are opposing him and you’re being thoroughly debated even if you agree with him! I completely agree that “Man’s chief end is to glorify God BY enjoying Him forever”. I feel like using the term “Hedonism” (even though he gives good reason in the last Appendix) is a little off base. It seems he has garnered unneeded controversy over using that term when he simply could have said it another way.
What do you think??

